‘Scuse me, your Pride is showing.

Sometimes, it feels very good to see someone experience the adage, “What goes around, comes around.” Then, you realize that the feeling is more flesh than anything else; and, if you’re serious about your salvation, you let that “joy” go. Quickly.

I had a moment like this recently and it made me wonder: Am I not allowed to have these type of (negative) feelings anymore? Am I crossing into holier-than-thou territory? The simplified response would be “no” and “no.” The answer, however, does go a bit deeper than just what a one-word response can provide.

Let’s take a look at Proverbs 11:2, a verse about pride.

When pride comes, then comes disgrace, but with the humble is wisdom. (ESV)

In multiple versions of the Bible, the verse begins with an interesting word: When. The Bible doesn’t suggest that pride “could” happen but that it will happen. Now, this is not to imply that all pride is sinful—there is a good sense of pride (one for those living in obedience to our faith)—but Proverbs 11:2 is talking about the negative side of pride. So, the Word substantiates that yes, I am allowed to have a negative feeling, but I should have a sense of remorse for it because I know better. What about the questions of “holier-than-thou-territory?” Proverbs 11:2 does not say I will become such a thing. It does, however, say that humility will bring wisdom. And if there is one thing necessary to do this thing called Life, wisdom’s needed!

I got myself together. I won’t lie and say that I didn’t relish in the moment for a while, but a convicted spirit is nothing to play with.

Leave a Reply

