When You Can’t Say “The Usual”

Writing in this blog is difficult these days. It’s not because I don’t make it a priority or that I’ve lost interest. It’s honestly because of the massive shift in my life—it’s changed what I understood the purpose of this blog to be for many years.

When I first started this blog in April 2011, I was dealing with my first year without my mother. I was realizing that my marriage was not what I thought it was, my career path was not what I thought it was…nothing was really what I thought it was. I used this blog as a place for reflection and healing. I had a lot to say—so much, in fact, that over 6000 people have “listened” to what I’ve had to say since then.

My tone is different now.

Instead of complaining like I did then, I accept my circumstances now. I do not say what (I think) needs to be said to those around me like I once did. I was never afraid of saying “no,” but now I don’t feel that I have to explain myself. I value my solo time. I value the fact that I see God in everything…EVERYTHING. And I just don’t have it in me at this point in my life to fire-and-brimstone you. I don’t have it in me to circle around the same topics anymore.

I want to share pictures with you now. Share inspirational quotes and new reflections on Scripture that isn’t heavily explored. I want to teach in a new way! And, because of this desire, I cannot just come here and leave, well…just anything.

So, we shall wait together for the unusual to manifest itself within me, in the name of Jesus. Business here will no longer be the same. Amen to that.

~ Ashley

 

One thought on “When You Can’t Say “The Usual”

Leave a Reply

