God is knocking!

Image

Image: VentureNashville.com

I’m not usually awake this late in the evening but I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed and eager and crazed.

Ever so often, in this little 20-something life of mine, I have a total meltdown about all the things I could/should/want to be doing versus my present state. I can definitely identify my growth; and I am humbled by the things God does for me, but it does not prevent these little spazz attacks (if that’s what we can call them) from happening. Why do they happen in the first place? I happen to have an internal voice that is great at egging me on to believe that I am not enough.

Wait, you have something like this, too? No way! Well, is yours uninvited? Are you actually welcoming such destructive intrapersonal communication? I certainly hope not, but I’m willing to guess that many of us are guilty of it from time to time.

Right now, at this hour, I’m bouncing off the walls about the things I aspire to do. Not long ago, I used to be very unappreciative of the “meantime,” the present day experiences that get us from point A to point B. Now, I use the meantime to pray and project my needs, which ironically just makes me antsy. I don’t know which of the two is worse but I do know this much: Opportunity–God–is knocking.

Jeremiah 29:11 tells us that our Father knows exactly what He has planned for us. I’m starting to believe that, once open to truly hearing the Holy Spirit speak, the excitement about what He has planned can almost bowl us over! When is the last time you considered your current state of living, your past and the promises of the future and smiled? Are you moping about, frustrated about something you cannot control? Well, STOP IT and get on with living.

Opportunities are everywhere. If the Lord could make a married couple have a child well into their old age, part a sea to set His people free; come down here in the form of man and die for our sins, I refuse to believe that He cannot move mountains for lil’ ol’ us. So come on and smile a bit more and thank Him for your right now. It doesn’t have to make immediate sense (much like how I felt last month about TaLK) but it will always turn out for the best.

~ Ashley

2 thoughts on “God is knocking!

Leave a Reply

