Book Review: Life of Pi

Life of PiLife of Pi by Yann Martel
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I read a book that further made me believe in God.

Although this book has been out for years, I knew nothing of it until the film previews earlier this year. While glancing over one of the bookshelves at my Grandmother’s house, I found the book nestled in between less lively titles. That was on Thanksgiving; and I finished it yesterday morning. If it were not for the sole reason that life must be lived, I would have read it much faster!

Author Yann Martel weaves an incredible story by way of presenting it as a story within a story. From a unique territory in India named Pondicherry, through the life-changing vastness of the Pacific Ocean, to the the friendly turf of Canada, readers travel through three sections of the novel with Piscine Molitor “Pi” Patel. As a young man, Pi grew up within the folds of his family-owned zoo in India. When life in India becomes a burden to the Patel family, a decision to move across the globe to Canada is made.

The choice to move is the catalyst for one of the most amazing stories of faith, knowledge and survival.

I could honestly wax poetic about this story but there are too many things that simply must be read to appreciate it. Therefore, make time to read this book. And, hopefully, do so before viewing the film–it made it more enjoyable for me!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

