Cleansed by fire

That photo up there is of my (now totaled) car around 12:30am PDT after the Los Angeles Fire Department extinguished 10-feet flames from its hood.

No one was hurt.

No surrounding cars or homes were damaged.

It was just a reminder of God’s power.

Best of Tentmaker shared something about fire in the Bible that fits this experience perfectly:

It is not surprising that fire plays such a significant role in the Bible. The Creator Himself is described as a “consuming fire.” (Deut. 4:24; Heb. 12:29) Doesn’t it seem rather strange to our understanding to call the Creator a consuming fire? Rarely, if ever, do we associate fire with the creation process. We usually associate it with destruction.

At the time of the incident, I could only see this from the side of destruction; and I accepted—almost immediately—that the destruction was symbolic of my current experiences. I was raging against God, experiencing serious spiritual unrest and on another crossroad after a brief moment of finally navigating onto a straight path. So sure, consume it all, fire…burn it to ashes.

Then I realized that fire is a part of the creation process. Kindling takes clay (God’s creation) and refines it to be a better vessel. I knew this already but my anger led me to forget. I have been so infuriated with the lack of clarity in some of things God wants for me that I’ve been questioning my faith. Sometimes, even when silent, I still cannot clearly hear Jesus. Now, more than anything, I want to hear from Him more than simply feel His presence. The blaze from this morning definitely spoke to me, so now I’m praying for discernment to understand the message He’s sent.

Despite this minor setback, I’m grateful for the opportunity to see another day. Also, I am not embarrassed to share my faults with you in my spiritual walk. I know our Father wants us to bring our sin to the church (the body of Christ) when seeking forgiveness. I’m grateful for the opportunity to confess and lay myself at His feet.

~ Ashley

2 thoughts on “Cleansed by fire

  1. Rochelle

    I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I do not know who you are but definitely you are going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Plowing and Looking Back « TheSpiritedNerd

Leave a Reply

