Not Dying for Work

It’s roughly 12:30am and I am burned out. I have been working quite a bit and getting less and less sleep. Although this is because of my job (and employment is something the vast majority of us need in order to live), I’ve been questioning the reasons why we are willing to go the ultimate distance for a job, but not for God?

I learned this past week that I have finally hit senior status in pursuit of my college degree, and I was absolutely shocked. I know what the end goal is, but I didn’t realize I was so close. The irony of me completing a degree in Biblical Studies, at a time when my spiritual life is suffering, is not lost on me. There’s a whole closet of things I have to sort through in order to get back to where I was just six months ago.

I’ve always been a relatively busy person, but at this point in my life, this is ridiculous. Last year taught me quite a bit about dying for Jesus and not the ways of the world, so I have to do better. Where I am, and what I’m doing now, is good but it’s not my calling. And my desire to transition into a more internal way of life is growing greater by the day.

All work and no play makes TheSpiritedNerd less spirited. Peace is on the horizon—I clearly see it.

~ Ashley

 

3 thoughts on “Not Dying for Work

  1. carolhenders

    Congratulations on being so close to achieving your goal, Ashley. Stress and burn out seem to be the issues for discussion on blogs this week. You’re right when life and work take the place of our quiet time with God we don’t deal with stress well. Our spirits are out of balance and this may show itself in the form of physical warning signs – depression, anxiety, insomnia. We need to pay attention to these warning signs when they come. If we don’t our health is at risk.

    This past Sunday I shared some of my experience with burnout on my blog post http://www.carolhenders.blogspot.ca/2012/05/philippian-46-7-mysterious-peace.html . I fully appreciate what you’re going through right now. Hang in there, Ashley! Take back your quiet time with God and don’t let anything interfere with it. Blessings to you!

    Reply
    1. TheSpiritedNerd Post author

      Carol, thank you so much! I stopped by your blog and read the link you shared; and I must admit we’ve experienced some similar concerning issues. My goodness! I’ll be sure to leave a comment on your blog and share the link with others.

      God bless!

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Bring on CQVC please! | The Spirited Nerd

Leave a Reply

