“Need a little dirt…”

Hey friends!

I had to take some time away from the blog to complete my first class on Hermeneutics. I learned quite a bit about where I stand with my understanding of the Bible, my faith and academic wherewithal. I’m glad it’s over.

I realized that I’m on the straight-and-narrow, but I’m not moving forward as passionately as I once was. Roughly a year of my life exposed me to circumstances that have made me apprehensive, but I still trust God. At least, I believe it can still be called trust. Either way, I’m still planted in the soil He needs me to be in.

Speaking of planting, for the past 3 years now, I’ve had an itch to grow a garden. Living in Southern California, where apartments are plenty and soil is scarce, I’ve enjoyed Farmers Markets and get excited about the thought of growing exotic fruits and wholesome veggies. I’m just…not big on digging in the dirt…and worms…and ants…things that crawl around. I’m not too feminine to get my hands dirty, but I don’t know how dedicated I’ll be to cultivating something.

I wonder what life would be like if God was so squeamish about us? Would He look at the soil and be too apprehensive to cultivate us? Obviously, this is not how He approaches things—He invests the time to watch us grow to our fullest potential. He waters and tends to us daily so that we can grow big and strong, just like any other gardener would do.

There’s this song by Mary Mary called “Dirt” that has played in the back of my mind for a few days now. Maybe this will be the year I get my hands messy and plant some roots in my backyard? We all need a bit of dirt to grow…

~ Ashley

Leave a Reply

