Celebration of God’s Goodness

Woooooo-hooooo, Devotional Monday!!!!

Passage: Psalm 111: 1-10

There is unequivocal proof that “Splendid and majestic is His work” when I look at the mountain range of Southern California.  Something as majestic as seeing them in the horizon every morning is a constant reminder of the awesome power of our Lord and Savior.  This understanding was not always a part of my awareness of God, however.

When I first moved to Los Angeles from Detroit, Michigan, I was angry and depressed.  For as long as I could remember, I never wanted to be a resident of the city of Los Angeles.  When I became a married woman, and learned that my husband’s work would certainly place us in Los Angeles, I embraced this with much negativity.  All I was capable of seeing around me for the first few months was the lack of a car of our own, or the amount of liter around our small apartment.  Instead of embracing the simple joys of a new adventure–a new life–I was resistant.  God was merciful, as He worked to show me how small I am in the grand scheme of things.

The Lord needs me in Los Angeles County (we have since moved out of the city) to be as resilient as those mountains.  He needs me to strengthen my walk so that I can spread the Gospel with greater confidence and be a beacon of hope to those around me.  It was not a position I anticipated assuming, but the mountains constantly remind me of the responsibility and of His goodness.

One thought on “Celebration of God’s Goodness

  1. Twyla Griffin

    The mercy we receive is awesome as is the view of the mountains. I believe God has led you to California for a time like this. My prayer is you find joy in the mountains knowing they have peaks and valleys. The only way to climb the mountain is the rough side and there is no where you can go and have been that God is not! Be Blessed!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

