God’s Works

Devotional Monday, ooooooh Devotional Monday!  (I really wish I could have a song of me singing that play on every Monday entry.  Then again, I wouldn’t subject you to that, lol!)

Friends, this is the first devotional that I’ve ever created.  After months of studying devotional writing, I have reached a point where I can do it. Amen for progress!  I am hopeful that, with continued prayer and your feedback, I’ll improve on a weekly basis.  I’m so excited (and nervous) to share this with you!

God’s Works

“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.” – Romans 8:28 NIV

*Romans tells us about what God has done, and will do, for all the good-but-not-perfect people.  (That’s you and me, by the way.)*

The level of God’s greatness/awesomeness is absolutely beyond understanding at times.  Just the other day, I was cruising on a road I drive weekly and found myself overwhelmed by the beauty of my surroundings.  I cannot imagine creating mountains, birds…human beings, for that matter.  God created this planet, the solar system and every aspect of its existence as it has ever been known.  Why did He do these things?  For His glory.  He even created us for that purpose, which entitles us to His promised blessings.

Unfortunately, I know there are some people who believe that this amazing gift is only for the “good people.”  Well, given the fact that we will never be absolutely “good people” in comparison to our Lord, He loves us enough to extend His grace to us anyway.  Trusting in the Lord with all our heart opens us to His great works within our lives.  Obstacles, frustrations and heartache will be turned over to Him; and you cannot begin to understand the amount of hope and joy that will be a part of you when this happens!  If the small action of simply taking in my surroundings is enough to let God further into my life, I’ll be looking around more often.

Heavenly Father, thank You for Your great works and willingness to help me grow to be more like You.  Amen.

 

One thought on “God’s Works

  1. Twyla Griffin

    Congratulations on your first devotional…well done! Several months ago I challenged myself to see God’s presence in everything. I haven’t perfected this practice but this devotion is a great reminder. Be blessed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

