Growing in Spiritual Gifts

“6 Having then gifts differing according to the grace that is given to us, let us use them: if prophecy, let us prophesy in proportion to our faith; 7 or ministry, let us use it in our ministering; he who teaches, in teaching; 8 he who exhorts, in exhortation; he who gives, with liberality; he who leads, with diligence; he who shows mercy, with cheerfulness.” – Book of Romans, chapter 12

For most of my working life, I’ve juggled jobs.  I either held employment at more than one company or assumed side work, such as : resume revisions, creative writing, dance instruction and babysitting.  These days, I have eggs in many baskets, seeking out the next thing to financially sustain me.  I’m very close to condensing to just a handful of baskets.

God’s granted many gifts to exercise, but I still feel like I’m not hitting the nail on the head.  Have you ever felt like this?  You’ve tried a few things here and there, some of which were enjoyable, but you still don’t feel like it’s on target?  There’s more to it…there has to be, in the name of Jesus, there has to be.  So what do we do?

1 Peter 4:10-11 instructs us to use our gifts to serve others.  Therefore, if your blessings are self-serving, you’re going against everything that will make you prosper.  Regardless of your gift(s), they all come from God.  Whatever He commands you to do, it is for the betterment of your brothers and sisters.  If your work these days, whatever the capacity, isn’t fulfilling this command as a Christian, I believe it’s time to look elsewhere.

Now, don’t get on the path of sending me emails, claiming that I’ve instructed you to quit your job.  That’s not what I’m saying!  What I’m advocating here is that you, and me, return to the path God’s instructed us on.  Use our gifts the way He wants us to use them.  If you are to teach, teach.  If you are strong in administrative skills, continue to act on those skills.  If you’re a helper, then keep on helping!

Lets dialogue, shall we?  Have you ever taken a spiritual gift assessment?  Has the Holy Spirit shared with you what gift you’re to exercise?  What are your thoughts.  I can’t wait to hear it.

~ Ashley

 

2 thoughts on “Growing in Spiritual Gifts

Leave a Reply

