Bible Verse for Comfort

Today’s prompt asks: When you are feeling overwhelmed, depressed, or down what Bible verses do you refer to?

This is an absolute no-brainer for me…Psalm 23.  It has been my peace for over 12 years in many storms.  WHEW!  Many!

The tone of Psalm 23 is powerful.  David was more vulnerable than ever when he wrote this poem and his acknowledgment of God’s unyielding grace can bring me to tears almost every time I read it.

When he says, “The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want,” I’m usually misty-eyed, lol!  Understand what he’s saying:

  • I am lost on my own
  • I need guidance
  • God is my direction and coverage
  • I’m good!
*Does happy dance* Amen!  All of that is delivered within the first few words!  Then it goes on to say just how great our Father is and all that He will do for us right in front of those against us.  I’ve got goosebumps.  I have other favorites, but this Scripture is my refuge.  Thanks be to thee, o Lord.  
What is your favorite verse (or verses) in your time of darkness?
One thought on “Bible Verse for Comfort

  1. Twyla Griffin

    Philippians 4:10-13 always brings me back to reality. When the storms come, I can anchor myself by reading these verses.
    “I rejoice greatly in the Lord that at last you have renewed your concern for me. Indeed, you have been concerned, but you had no opportunity to show it. I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do everything through him who gives me strength. ”

    Contentment is a state of satisfaction that is anchored to our confidence in God that results in a joyful celebration of life.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

