The Unexpected Spiritual Cleanse

For the past 3 months or so, my body’s experienced many inexplicable changes.  I’ve seen several doctors and I’ve had many prescriptions, but nothing has adversely effected me as much as this…

My primary care physician told me yesterday that I should strongly consider becoming a vegetarian.

WHAT!?  Insanity, I say!  I developed a (negative?) opinion about Southern California when I first moved here 2 years ago that everyone was a no-soy, no-gluten, vegan.  Being a vegetarian was just too much of a slightly inhumane risk, so vegan was the only way for the masses to go.  Yeah, I’ll take my BLT with extra B, please.

However, after pouting for a couple of hours last night and consuming a bowl of greens with only white vinegar as “seasoning,” I’ve decided that this is a great opportunity to look at this as a cleanse for my spirit.  So much has happened, and so much is on the way (my 1-yr work anniversary, my 2-year marriage anniversary, my Mama’s 1-yr anniversary of passing), so I’ll take this as a sign that God needs me as healthy as possible to emotionally withstand these things.

I honestly like fruits and veggies, but I didn’t want it to be my full-time eating gig.  It’s not about my wants right now, though—it’s about doing what is necessary to get better and end the dis-ease.  So, I’m loading up on all those Trader Joe’s goodies that I sample but never by, and I’m moving forward with no complaints.  Okay, a few complaints.  Okay, okay, as few outward complaints as possible.

I’m taking it to Jesus, lol.

~Ashley

Leave a Reply

