Running on E

Photo from theyeshivaworld.com

Jump down, turn around, pick a bale of cotton/Jump down, turn around, pick a bale a day/Oh Lordy, pick a bale of cotton/Oh Lordy, pick a bale of day…

It’s 5:36am PST and I’m aching.

As you’ve probably gathered from previous entries, my feet are giving me grief.  Something about torn ligaments, Achilles inflammation…hip pain…you get the idea.  Add on the fact that I’m working like a…*clears throat and nods at the lyrics above*…and strutting around with a very noticeable cane that’s patterned in pink roses and you’ve got yourself one stellar 26-year-old to look at!

I can become so goal driven that I put my well-being at great risk.  Right now, my focus is on kicking a huge dent into the side of my student loan repayments, finishing a book to review on this blog (and give away!); putting the finishing touches on a website for both The Mobile Spa Network and my consulting company, and saving to purchase a second car.  It’s quite a bit to bite off all at once.

Honestly, this isn’t the first time I’ve stretched myself this thin, but I feel certain in my (achy) bones that this is the last time I’m going to go this hard on myself.  Body’s saying STOP and I’m finally saying “okay.”

Have you ever ran on E?  Did you completely burn out, or did God deliver a reminder your way that you can’t do it all?

~ Ashley

Leave a Reply

