Hiding God’s Word in Your Heart

More and more I am learning the importance of memorizing God’s words. The Bible tells us in Psalms 119:10-11, “I see you with all of my heart; do not let me stray from your commands. I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.”  (Gosh, there’s that ‘s’ on the end of Psalm again…I’m so confused!)

What does “I have hidden your word in my heart” really mean?   It’s not as if you can literally place the Bible in your heart, right?  (A tree can grow in it, however.  I’m just sayin’…)  Let’s take a minute and break it down.  First, what is the difference between the word “hide” and “hidden”?

To hide means…

  • To conceal from sight; prevent from being seen or discovered. (ex. Where did I hide my cell phone?)
  • To obstruct the view of; cover up. (ex. I can’t find my cell phone, so I must accept that it’s hiding from me.)
  • To conceal from knowledge or exposure; keep secret. (ex. I really don’t have anything to tie this in with my lost cell phone…sorry.)

So basically the word “hide” means to conceal.  So why would you want to conceal or hide the Word? And what, exactly, would you conceal or hide?  I know I would hide or conceal my most treasured things. If I knew today that I was going to…oh, I don’t know…lose my cell phone, I would’ve hid it in my front pocket.  I’m just sayin’…So I understand the need to hide the Word in one’s heart as protecting it from those that can do it harm.  Keeping it concealed from adversity keeps it fresh, if you will, for those who are ready to receive it with an open heart.  They will, in turn, hide it, too.

Matthew 6:19-21 talks about storing up treasure in heaven rather than on earth. “For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”

Do you treasure the Word in your heart? Do you love it? Do you do what ever you can to have it?  Having the Word of God in your heart helps you stand firm against adversity, trials and temptations.  “For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, and against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.” (Ephesians 6:12)

There have been so many times in my life that I have needed to stand on a solid rock and remember what God has done for me and that He is there to be my strength.   After all, I can do all things through Christ because of this (Phil. 4:13).  Just to go with this and not know where it comes from within the Bible isn’t good enough.  Believers have to know the Word, period!

I’m currently exploring Learn to Study the Bible by Andy Deane (since I’ve basically bombed the B90x experience.  I’m not discouraged, when it’s time, God will lead me back to it.) and I can’t wait to share some of the techniques with you.

How do you go about remembering God’s Word?

~ Ashley

One thought on “Hiding God’s Word in Your Heart

  1. JBen

    Sorry the b90x didn’t work out. That is a pretty ambitious goal. I am on the six year plan myself.

    I remember the word by reading it and then writing all over it. That is actually very helpful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

