Reminded of My Calling to Teach the Word

Yesterday, May 21, 2011, did not mark the end of the world.

I believe, with all my heart, that this experience was a perfect example of the importance of proper biblical teaching.

Much of the Bible was turned into a mathematical equation sometime in the late 90s by Family Radio’s founder, and the result of it was a (second) negative blow to the validity of the Bible.  Although written by man, it is the Word of God—the Good News—and there is a right way to teach the Word.  The teacher is called to communicate Scripture’s relevance.  The teacher is not called to make it (seem) relevant.  When this responsibility is adversely approached we, unfortunately, lose the opportunity to spread the Gospel.

The Christian is a laughing-stock today.  A respected teacher led the flock in the way he felt it needed to go.  We cannot teach our agenda, we are called to teach what the Bible’s agenda is.

I pray for us this evening.  I pray that God will spark in those called to teach a new energy, a refreshed purpose.  I pray that we, as the body of Christ, will come together and use this situation as a stepping stone towards better teaching.

I will.  The Lord’s called me to do so.  I am being developed into a Teacher.  I’m changing…and you should know about it.  And tell your friends, too!

~ Ashley

One thought on “Reminded of My Calling to Teach the Word

  1. Twyla Griffin

    “Study to show thyself approved unto God, a workman that
    needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the Word of Truth.”
    –2 Tim. 2:15.

    The Word is the truth. You must study the scriptures and have a prayer life. You must open your heart and your mind to follow what God approves for your life.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

