“What kind of Bible do you have?”

Photo from Examiner.com

I heard a pastor on the radio ask his congregation to imagine what it would be like if we all carried the Bible like we do cellular phones. What would it be like if we all flipped through those texts like we do messages from friends?  What would it be like if we carried it everywhere with us–how we absolutely go into panic when we misplace it, or how we’ll go back home to grab it if we left it by mistake?  I found it so interesting!

For one, I can’t remember when I actually started the habit, but I do carry my Bible everywhere with me.  In fact, I feel odd when I leave it somewhere, and have turned around to get it out of the house and have it with me.  And what about the texts? Is Jesus not a true friend?  I’m known for belting out “I Am a Friend of God” at random times, so a random text here and there from Him is just the same.  And I’ve got a Blackberry, so it can do quite a bit…but it’s not like my Bible.

I have several Bibles, actually.  My green one that I bought myself when I lost my pink one to irresponsibility, I take it virtually everywhere with me.  I now have my Mama’s, a Bible so loved and revered that she prayed the bindings off of it during her lifetime.  I have my teen Bible that is all marked up and dog-eared.  There’s a Spanish translation, and the Woman’s Study Bible from my mother-in-law.  And, just a couple of weeks ago, I bought my first King James Version from a dollar store.  Just like a cell phone, they come in various shapes, sizes, and have different features.  The essential purpose is the same: a way for the Lord to communicate with me, and vice-versa.  If I lack guidance, if I’m afraid, I call on Him and pick up my Bible as often as I can.

How wonderful is that?!  How fulfilling!  HOW AMAZING!  The Lord, the King of Kings calls ME “friend” and for what?!  I am not even remotely worthy, but I am so honored!

One of my songs of testimony right now is Moving Forward.  From the first moment I heard it, I was moved.  (Not to mention, the first time I heard it was days after Mama passed away.)  I don’t understand how anyone would want to NOT be in the shelter of Christ?! The spiritual peace, the comfort…I will follow You forward, Lord.

Thank you. Thank you.

 

10 thoughts on ““What kind of Bible do you have?”

  1. judikruis

    OK…we are sisters – I’d rather read a scripture than a text message !! And I have pink…and green…and Spanish….no mother-in-law :0) (Thanks for the connect LeRoy.)

    Reply
  2. Jon Fakuff

    Thanks for adding my blog and for reading! And I have New King James. Of course, I also have the Free App Bible on my Blackberry. You never know, if the lights go out, that LCD display is like a miracle!

    Reply
  3. chosenwoman

    Love it and that is something that would be amazing. I know I have different bibles and I have one study bible in which I use so much that the pages are worn and I should get it binded but I won’t because I had it for years and I got all my notes and everything highlighted.

    If we carried our bibles like we do cellphones then our walk with the Lord will be a much deeper one. I like that question allot. Thank you for posting it I am sure it give everyone something to really think about. Also I want to thank you for your lovely comment to my posting on “LOVE” at The Devotion Cafe’ God bless you and I am praying for you.

    Reply
    1. TheSpiritedNerd Post author

      If it wasn’t for the fact that my Mama had a nice carrying case for her Bible, there’s no way it would’ve been able to be passed along to me safely. I think it’s a powerful thing to have a worn and broken bound Bible! I have to add your blog to my list of Faves, actually, so thanks for stopping by–it’s reminded me!

      Reply
  4. Trish D

    I have a small collection of Bibles, too – including the burgundy thinline (NIV) I carried during high school/college, then the green NIV Study Bible I purchased my last year of college (after pages started falling out of my other one). Last summer I purchased a Message/NIV parallel Bible and I love it – after being raised in the church, I fear that at times the NIV has become so familiar that I don’t truly “hear” it anymore, so the Message has served as a reintroduction of sorts. I also keep a small NIV Bible in my car; if I’m stuck somewhere, what better way to pass the time than in the Word?!

    What a precious thing to have your Mother’s much-loved Bible! One of my dearest friends has six children, and one of her goals is to leave behind a Bible for each of them – she just started on her third!

    (And thank for the visit to my blog, too 🙂

    Reply
  5. Daphne

    I love this post. About a year or so ago, a woman I know from an online Christian group, told me that it is very wise to have a collection of bibles. It would help with my walk with Christ. So I have taken her up on her suggestion. I have an old green bible (KJV) my mom gave my son when he was young. I started using it and highlighting scriptures, etc. Used it extensively until the print became difficult to read at a glance. Move up to a 90 Day Bible (NIV), wasn’t sure I would like it put it on the shelf. Then purchased a NKJV/AMP version large print great for church (easy on the eyes for both me and my husband). Then a light weight paper back (NKJV) to carry in my bag to read at work. Now I am looking for a NKJV Study Bible to use after my 90 Day Bible journey is through (went back to this one). Also, looking for an electronic version so I can play it anytime I need to be alone with the Lord all by myself (LOL). Wow, I may need to have a separate shelf in the bookcase if I keep this up. So glad to have found you from your email about guest blogging. Looking forward to learning more about you. Be blessed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

